Life

I got a job!

Hey everyone! 

So, here’s a little part of my story ; I finished my cinema studies in 2015. I did an internship at Universal Pictures (in Paris) during my studies (in 2014), and I loved it. It was my dream job! After my studies, I found a job for 6 month at the main radio here in Paris (in 2015-16), and I loved it too, even if it wasn’t really my kind of music. It was almost the same tasks that I had at Universal Pictures, so it was almost perfect. And it was still entertainment. I was working in marketing and communication. It was my thing.

So after that, I looked for a job in this area, but I didn’t find anything. 

After a while (almost one year), I faced the fact that I didn’t have the right formation to do what I wanted. So I thought about my life, a LOT, about what else I liked, what I preferred in life and in myself, about what I could use in/for a job. 

My second dream was to work in publishing, but since I hadn’t ANY qualifications, nor any professional contacts, it was obvious I would never get a job in this area. I’m not a warrior. I can’t find my way through this difficult world, talking myself through things like that. Some people can, I can’t. I’m too shy and too honest for that. It’s ridiculous. 

My last idea was to work in a hotel, being a receptionist. Again, I had no formation, but I already had some experience dealing with welcoming clients, and I liked it. I love helping people, making them happy just by being here for them and answer their request. Sounded perfect. And, to be honest, I got inspired by the movie ‘Love, Rosie’. I thought : why not? So I prospected a little, sending some CVs all over Paris, not even hoping a positive answer because, let’s be honest, who would want me when they could have anyone else, with more experience? 

But you know what? The day after I sent those CVs, I got 2 interviews. And 3 others the day after that. 2 of them wanted me. They wanted me for me, for my personality, and not just my formation (since I have none). So I choose my favorite one, and today was my first day, and it went well =) The whole team is really nice, and I think I’ll like the job! Really. It suits me, in a way. 

So, why am I telling you all about my life, you’d think? Just to tell you that, yes, it’s really hard nowadays to find a job. And maybe you won’t find something that you like. But you are human. You can find something new, redefine yourself, change your mind, try something new. Never give up. “The only limit is the one you set yourself“. Okay, maybe you also need to be realistic, and okay, I will stop with the cliché sentences. But you really do have more options than you think! Just be sure your choices make you happy. The most important thing is to make yourself happy. There isn’t little or poor jobs. Yes, I’m payed with the more little salary possible, but at least I’m payed for something I like!

And when I think about it, I’m not sure I would have love working in communication. This is so much more human. And I love humans. I love feelings. I love life. 

– PaperGirl

Leave a Reply

