Thoughts · Tv series

‘Girlboss’ (Netflix)

Hey everyone!!

It seems like Netflix is always doing great new TV series, so I had to check ‘Girlboss’, because I know Britt Robertson for a long time now, and this is about a young girl who create her own business (I’m currently a young girl unemployed, ha). I won’t spoil anything, I’m just reflecting on my life from this series. 

With the first episodes, I was quite divided : did I like it or not? I wasn’t really close to Sophia’s character. We have a verrrrrry different tempers and tastes and ways of life in general. I’m classic and stable when she’s eccentric and absurd. I would never have made the same choices as her (except maybe for Shane :p). So it was quite hard to watch sometimes. 

But in the end, she grew on me. And her project grew on me. And her story, her friends, her strength did too. She’s so great! I’m not one to fight that hard for anything, but she did! And this is awesome!! Of course she makes mistakes, and I don’t necessarily agree or valid everything she does and how she does it, but in the end she makes it, and that’s the point! She tries and go as far as she can. She fight till the end to do what she loves, and for what she wants, and I admire her for that! She comes out of it more grown up, but not loosing sight of who she is. 

I also like how she begins alone, not supported, totally lost. But then she finds a way out of this shitty life by accepting the help of others! And it saves her! It’s important to remember that we are not alone, and that we can count on one another. I often forget that. Because sometimes you expect one person to support you one way, and when this person doesn’t, it seems like the end of the world, like you will be alone for the rest of your life. But that’s not true. It’s just one moment of your life. Other people will be there for you and support you and love you. You just have to accept that not everybody will react the way you want them to. You have to accept people for who they are, for them to accept you for you are. And sometimes you will be disappointed, but other times you will be surprised. And this is the best part! People will surprise you. And you will surprise them, and you will surprise yourself, like Sophia does, like everyone do.  

Anyway. ‘Girlboss’ was quite a surprise, and I didn’t think I would like it this way, that much, but I did. I could identify myself with Sophia even if her character is so far from myself. And trust me, this is one hard thing to do when you are so different from her. 

Oh and one last thing : Britt Robertson was really great in this role! She isn’t always great, I like her but I have to admit that sometimes she always act the same way. But it wasn’t the case here. She was really great! 

– PaperGirl

Leave a comment